Oh dear Lord, I’ve done it…

freakoutAnd the new headers are a go! And I’m kind of panicking. (There’s a reason I made oneΒ header and stuck with it for a full year.)

I’m… not sure how I like the change? I like the headers themselves. At least, I’m pretty sure I like the headers themselves? But now I’m not sure how I like them in the overall layout. This is like getting a new chair isn’t it? Suddenly you realize you need to re-do the whole room…

Ah well. I’m going to live with this for a while. See if it sticks or if more changes elbow their way into my blog layout. Apologies in advance for the visual whiplash that may occur!

8 thoughts on “Oh dear Lord, I’ve done it…

  1. Looks great! I like that each header uses a different Font style. Still love your “Creating Volume” Title…It took me awhile to get comfortable with GIMP. I’m still learning it. One of these days, I might consult you on some “how-to” questions. Have a good weekend! πŸ™‚

    • Aw, thank you! πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t call myself GIMP comfortable, yet either. I’m basically cheating with pics and font. You can definitely feel free to ask me anything just… the answers might be more, “ooh, that’s a great question! I’d like to know that myself!” than helpful. πŸ˜‰

  2. Aw! Look at you go!! πŸ˜€ Considering how recent your foray into GIMP was, I think you’re doing a great job of it!! *wild applause*

    I can understand the discomfort though.. It does take some getting used to, after having a particular look and vibe on the blog for a full year.. I only had my static Gong Yoo banner for a few months before switching that out for rotating banners, and even then it took me a while to get used to it.

    • Thank you! *bows* Now that I’m a tiny bit more comfortable (though I’ve still got tons and tons and tons to learn) I finally understand you saying how fun header-making can be. So hopefully there’ll be more to come?

      I’m definitely in a “spring-cleaning” mode with the blog, too. So it’s like little visual bugs that I’d been able to ignore are getting more irritating… but change is scaaaary!!! (And also fun — I’m wailing a bit, but I’m also enjoying myself. πŸ˜‰ )

  3. How many banners are there? The two that I’ve seen so far look really nice for a ‘first’ try. πŸ™‚ Looking forward to seeing more.

    I get very attached to the look of my journal and tumbler as well so I tend to stick to the same stuff year in, year out. Besides I’m kinda lazy and it takes time to make changes so…..

    I haven’t done graphics in such a loooong time that I’m pretty sure I’ve forgotten how now. There was a time I was obsessed with making icons/avatars and I could.not.stop. I think I have several hundred of ’em little squares lurking in me external harddrive and a big A4 binder full of tutorials. ;D I have a trusty old PS6 and it’s been quite sufficient for my graphical needs. I remember it being loads of run when I first started tinkering with it and learning how-to; hunting for plug-ins, tutorials and tips. My first attempts at graphics rather sucked though, LOL!

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ I’ve made 5 banners total. I expect I’ll make more as I go (and hopefully improve!) and add them to the cycle.

      I never made an icon/avatar — that seemed way beyond my skill-set to me, but I collected them like crazy! I remember spending hours combing through icon-making sites looking for just the right one to express the perfect mood. Fun times. πŸ˜€

      You’re not kidding about the time involved in changing up things, though. Not so much the headers themselves (they did take time — but I didn’t feel rushed so it was like a fun side project) but figuring out what I’m going to do with the rest of the blog… I’ve spent waaay too much time pouring through blog-templates and… yeah. I’m forcing myself to back-burner it for now and get back to the actual blog content.

      But I was getting tired of the way things looked so I imagine the tinkering will continue. And probably the panicked fall-out, as well. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

