Weekly Drama Check-in Post (two cheers and a yelp)

Two reviews down! Two more to go. I am positive I’ll get at least Monstar done. photo1 photo photo1_zpsd5ebbb07.jpgI’m leery about promising anything for Heartless City. I love that drama so much and I have another analytical post in mind for it and I really don’t want to rush myself, so… Still! Getting it down to just one name under “awaiting review” is a good thing, right?

It’s interesting (to me at least) the different amount of effort required for writing a review post and writing a reaction post.

With reactions I’m giving my emotions free rein, dumping all my feelings and theories-of-the-moment on the page and sending it out to the world. fbnd randompanda photo ScreenShot2013-02-19at60925PM_zps1d0fd06c.pngI might miss an entire story-thread because it’s not the part of the drama that’s grabbed my heart at the time. (Pretty much all of Gu Family Book — which should have been my first hint this was not the drama for me.) I might spout off a theory that turns out to be completely and totally wrong, wrong, wrong. (Flower Boy Next Door, in which being wrong was a good thing.) But none of that matters because this is all reactionary. It’s emotion and mood with only the barest bit of intellectual work thrown in.

Reviews are a different beastie. With those I want to try and capture the entire feel of the drama — the kind of mood it sets, the kind of mood it appeals to. YSmountain2 photo ScreenShot2013-03-09at14156PM_zps378d0637.pngI want to explore what the creators were trying to do, near as I can figure, versus what they actually succeeded in doing. I want to share what worked for me, and what didn’t, but also explain the whys and wherefores so readers can decide if it’s the sort of thing that will work for them, too. Or if it’ll send them screaming for the hills. And I want to do all that with as minimal amount of spoilers as possible.

Which… is a really long-winded way of saying, reviews take work, guys! watching tv photo tvwatching_zps5609b6c3.jpgSo… it’s definitely okay that I’m just getting three down before my travels, right? (Also, since diving back into Mischievous Kiss: Love in Tokyo and I Hear Your Voice I’m suddenly really eager to rewatch them both. Oh, for infinite time…)

4 thoughts on “Weekly Drama Check-in Post (two cheers and a yelp)

  1. Keep on chugging! I have a review of Thank You that I’m sitting on because of precisely the reasons you just stated, plus when I love a drama I really wanna do it justice, hence…sitting.
    Nice choice of pic of Su Ha in a tank top by the way. It’s one of his better looks! So says the pervy noona 😉

    • Yup! The more I like the drama, the harder the review is to do… I shall chug away! 😀

      I suspicion Su-ha knew exactly what he was doing when making his wardrobe choices. Being able to read minds, he must have known his general affect on them what would have interest. 😉 (And yes, this is another reason I enjoyed “I Hear Your Voice” so very, very much.)

Leave a Reply

