Sung Joon, what are they doing to you!?!

I’m behind on Gu Family Book so I missed the gasp heard round the world (there had to be a collective gasp) — but let me add my own cry of despair. His hair had been unfortunate.
badhair photo ScreenShot2013-04-18at115148AM2_zps5beaac2a.png But this is just plain mean. (No Spoilers… but it’s all just too horrible!)

hairhorror1 photo hairhorror1_zps5c952594.jpg

I’ll admit that my very first thought when I saw it was, “Yay! A new do!” But then I was like, “Is that..? Is that a…? Is that a mullet?” Side view confirmed my fears.

hairhorror2 photo hairhorror2_zps27b24bfb.jpg

Even Mrs. Brady disapproves. And she invented the look!

carolbrady photo 120507061512-tv-mom-carol-brady-florence-henderson-horizontal-gallery_zpsebbd4ca9.jpg

Don’t be too angry, Sung Joon.
hairhorror3 photo hairhorror3_zpsd936251d.jpg
Think of this as an acting handicap. You’re just so damn good they had to hold you back somehow. I’ll remember your better days.
sungjoon3 photo image_zpsa3ade1c0.jpg
And wait for them to come again.
SungJoon photo sj3_zpsa1c5a446.jpg

20 thoughts on “Sung Joon, what are they doing to you!?!

  1. Haha… This is just too horrible. I’m glad I dropped Gu before I was forced to look at him like that. I’ll be admiring his better [hair] days then, and wait for him to pick another project.

  2. Oy, it’s the 70’s again! ;P

    That is one ugly do, that’s for sure. What’s with the k-dramas recent bent on uglyfying hot men? Too much HOT?

    • Ooh, who else has been ugly-fied? I’m dying to know.

      I have to wonder if they’re doing this semi-deliberately to explain how his character has been totally overlooked by the female lead? I just can’t believe it’s hard to create Joseon-era hair for Sung Joon. It’s not like he has a weird head or something.

      • Oh, there’s been a few, I just can’t remember the really bad ones right off the cuff. LOL! Jang Hyuk’s short crop in Iris 2 wasn’t very flattering but he sorta worked it.

        • I suspect Jang Hyuk is very good at working otherwise questionable things. 😉 Also, I have a shorthair bias with guys so it’s a little less likely to hit me as horrible as longer cuts.

  3. Holy guacamole, Batman! What.is.that? I’m not even watching this drama, but couldn’t resist commenting. This post is hilarious. Lols.

    • If Sung Joon’s struggle with historically accurate(ish) hair isn’t worthy of laughs, I don’t know what it. 😉 Glad you enjoyed, Ilovekimchi!

  4. This post is so funny! 🙂 Sorry Sung Joon. It’s not you; it’s the hair … I’m only on episode 2 of Gu Family Book, so I have not yet seen the hair horrors…Actually, what really made me laugh is Mrs. Brady’s disapproval. I guess she is into k-dramas too. 😀 Thanks BetsyHP for this entertaining post!

    • Mrs. Brady is totally into K-dramas. She and Alice catch an episode or two when the kids are at school and argue over who does better broody shower scenes — Lee Min-ho or Song Seung-hun. (Alice, being old-school is for SSH, but Mrs. Brady has a soft spot for “Boys Over Flowers” so…) 😉

Leave a Reply

