That Winter the Wind Blows: the Review

thatwinterthewindblows photo That-Winter-The-Wind-Blows-Poster_zpsd885cef0.jpgThat Winter the Wind Blows
air date: 2.13.2013 through 4.03.2013
number of eps: 16
I watched it: live

In a nutshell: A stunningly gorgeous drama with breath-taking cinematography. A poetically told tale of two horribly broken people finding purpose and love together. An intricate plot about a conman, in a desperate attempt to save his own life, pretending to be the long lost brother of a blind heiress. At first all three strands are expertly woven together to form a perfect story: the prose of the plot enriched by the poetry of the characters’ emotional journey with the gorgeous camerawork tying it all together. Unfortunately, the plot drops out. And, aside from a few awkward moments when the story tries to bring it back, poetry is all that’s left. It’s beautiful and emotionally satisfying, but logic is sacrificed.

Plot: It starts off well, all intrigue and mystery with a dash of cleverly planned heist. Our conman, Oh Soo, owes a large sum of money to a very bad man. And our blind heiress, Oh Young, appears to be a prisoner in her own home. The plot challenged our hero to both free himself from the very bad man and somehow help Oh Young escape the clutches of team photo ScreenShot2013-02-17at30239PM2_zps8182b8fc.pngthose who would control her.

In this section of the story Oh Soo’s teammates, Jin-sung (Kim Bum) and Hee-sun (Jung Eun-ji), were crucial players. They’re a formidable team (Jin-sung the brawn to Hee-sun’s brain), and they brought in the humor. I expected them to be a well integrated part of the drama. But when the plot dropped out, their reason for being dropped out as well. After that, their appearances tended to be awkward reminders of a plot that wasn’t really there.

The plot also brought us Moo-chul (the very bad man’s hired killer with a personal grudge against Oh Soo), scarydude photo ScreenShot2013-02-15at104734PM_zps14a144e7.pngand Secretary Wang (Oh Young’s main caregiver and also her main prison-guard). They both start off as plot-creators. Less fully formed characters than symbols of what both Oh Soo and Oh Young were fighting against. And they made for deliciously evil foes. Moo-chul taking sadistic pleasure in Oh Soo’s increasing desperation, gleefully twisting the knife (sometimes, literally). Secretary Wang playing the sacrificing caregiver everyone praises while smothering all attempts of Oh Young to act for herself.

Unexpectedly, when the plot dropped out, Moo-chul and Secretary Wang became much more complex and interesting. wang photo ScreenShot2013-02-22at60803PM_zps84b88d9c.pngNo longer needed to drive the plot, they were able to fill out into characters our protagonists learn and gain from, rather than simply beat against. Moo-chul becomes a character with such conflicting motivations and moments of grace and growth that I honestly think he could have carried his own drama. Secretary Wang could have carried her own story as well. (Though, her story is probably too odd for a regular drama. A novel maybe. Or an indie-film. A deep study of the human condition filled with silences and symbols.)

Both roles were played by incredibly good actors, Kim Tae-woo and Bae Jong-ok, and I almost wonder if their acting abilities helped shape the story away from its original plot and into the more poetic tale it became.

Poetry: Though, the poetry was always there. The emotional story of a man who clung to life even though he had nothing to live for, and a woman who was so tired of fighting to live that she wanted to die.fauxkiss photo ScreenShot2013-02-22at54932PM_zpsf670da8e.png

The scenes between Oh Soo (Jo In-sung) and Oh Young (Song Hye-hyo) were incredibly intimate and raw. (That they were supposed to be siblings made for some viewer confusion, I’ll confess. It was good of the drama to make it clear that they were not related and at least one of them knew it. For sanity’s sake.) We were watching two characters who’d spent a life-time building protective shields, begin to break those shields down. And the effect it had on both of them was electric. And moving. And very much poetry.

And while, at first the poetry echoed the plot (both Oh Soo and Oh Young were each facing down a very real life and death crisis), endofforce photo ScreenShot2013-03-22at41458PM_zpsd0ecb6bd.pngeventually the poetry took over. The actual physical or real threats to their lives became secondary to the spiritual threat. Was Oh Soo willing to put someone else’s life before his? Was Oh Young willing to engage in the painful struggle to live? But, by the time the plot began to slip away I was so fully invested in their struggle to emerge from their protective shells and really live (and hopefully live for each other), I didn’t miss it much. The plot had become a mere undergirding. Something to hang the poetry on. Whatever made the most sense poetically (will they live on together? die together? leave one to mourn the other?) I trusted the plot to make it so.

And, for the most part, it did. The one hiccup came when for a brief moment (very brief — barely a scene, really) the plot took forefront. It shouldn’t have. I don’t think it was needed so it only succeeded in disturbing the poetical flow. However, the last spasm of the plot did not alter the poetry, so I forgave its intrusion.

Cinematography: From beginning to end this drama used some of the most beautiful camera work I’ve ever seen in a drama. Costuming, set design… every scene became its own work of art. And for the most part, the acting was worthy of its frame. I think it’s partly because the story was being told with such visual lyricism that I was able to embrace the more poetical story, allowing the prosaic plot to slide away.

From winter…
tree photo ScreenShot2013-02-14at75859PM2_zpsf4e34211.png
mutedcolors photo ScreenShot2013-02-14at81909PM_zpsde0e07d1.png
sooyoungmirror photo ScreenShot2013-02-22at62942PM_zps8a76084a.png
YSmountain2 photo ScreenShot2013-03-09at14156PM_zps378d0637.png
back2mirror photo ScreenShot2013-03-21at124305PM1_zps6dee4657.png
soo? photo ScreenShot2013-04-04at94435PM_zps7fdbe619.png
…to spring.

Final Thoughts: This was one of the harder reviews for me to write. What the drama did well it did very well indeed, but where it slipped up it was horrid. YSbake1 photo ScreenShot2013-03-09at13017PM1_zps2f9b41e2.pngThe plot really did go through a mangling and I can’t ignore that. But the emotional story was told so faithfully I can’t help but feel forgiving. So often it’s the other way around (emotional through lines dropped to allow the plot to do its thing) and I find those stories empty and soulless. Ultimately unsatisfying. This drama managed to keep its soul but sacrificed its body. In the end, I was satisfied but can only recommend it with caution. Take this as poetry and allow it some license and it may satisfy you as well.

10 thoughts on “That Winter the Wind Blows: the Review

  1. Nicely said, BetsyHp!! I will take it as poetry then.. Going in with a tweaked mindset & managed expectations can do a lot to make a drama more enjoyable, & you’ve done that for me with this review and your other thoughts on this drama. Thank you! ❤

    • Yay! I’m glad. 🙂 I have to say it was really hard to write this review because while I enjoyed the drama I could see the flaws. So I wanted to explain my enjoyment but not paper over the flaws but also not scare people away… I have to admit I felt like a genius when I suddenly thought, oh! poetry! 😉

  2. This wasn’t a drama for me and I knew it right off bat. Too much poetry for my taste, per chance but it was one of those dramas I didn’t feel anything towards the characters. When that happens I can pretty much guarantee the whole thing will be bust sooner rather than later. So, I dropped it early, before the plot went it’s way. Just as well, as I’m one of those who also needs a plot to enjoy the story fully. Beauty and poetry alone won’t be able to carry me for long. Just one of those things, I guess. 🙂

    • Yes, being totally engaged with the characters was an absolute must for enjoying the drama. Because it’s the characters, not the plot that carries through. So you were right to walk away. 🙂

      I do think the dropping of the plot was a mistake — if it’d kept through this would have been such an awesome drama. But the writer had such a strong handle on the core characters and their thematic struggle it worked for me. Which — banking on just beauty and poetry is a dangerous thing because it’s really, really hard to do well (too easy to spin out of control into chaos or nothingness) — but this was one of the rare cases where it worked. (For me, anyway. ;)) I think it helped that there was a strong plot underpinning to begin with. The theme had a strong basing to build out from.

  3. Pingback: Nine: Reaction Post | Creating Volumes

  4. Pingback: Review: That Winter, The Wind Blows | The Fangirl Verdict

  5. Hey Betsy! 😀

    I know it’s reaaally late (and irrelevant) to be dropping my 2 cents here, but kfangurl’s recent review made me go back to this.

    This drama evoked complicated emotions. For me, it somehow didn’t work. I could see what they were trying to create, but the individual ingredients — all equally good — didn’t make a well-meshed whole.

    The faux-cest divided camps among viewers. Some lapped it up, some cringed. I cringed, but for slightly different reasons.

    It’s a divisive topic, faux-cest (Boy, is it?), but! there are times I’ve bought it. Have you watched Damo? I was on the faux-cest wagon there. Hee! And proudly, too.

    But here, I felt like the drama was titillating the viewers. It wasn’t subtle, it was deliberate. I resented that.

    The writer-director style clash was also there. And boy, Jo In Sung, bless his stylish heart, overacts.

    Anyway, I’m so glad you found poetry in it, because I’m sure there was.

    One thing you say here that I like:

    “Secretary Wang could have carried her own story as well. (Though, her story is probably too odd for a regular drama. A novel maybe. Or an indie-film. A deep study of the human condition filled with silences and symbols.)”

    The actress that played Sec. Wang was good. She was too twisted and complicated a character for the drama to do justice, given her minor role and the drama’s length.

    Anyway. There. Now I’ll lay the Winter woes to rest.

    Keep finding poetry, Ms Betsy. 🙂

    • It’s never too late! 😀

      This drama was definitely a case of, either the viewer buys it and climbs on board — or they don’t. And if they don’t there’s nothing, nothing(!) for them. Because the plot itself unraveled so badly there was no real story to follow by the end. The only reason I stayed on board and enjoyed myself was because I’d fallen so hard for the two leads, Soo and Young. I believed their love-story and wanted them together and if the plot fell apart… as long as it didn’t compromise their story? I could let it go.

      I agree that the faux-cest was deliberate and made to titillate. So I can understand resenting the manipulation. It worked for me — so I didn’t mind the hard sell. Also, I really liked Jo In-sung’s choices for his character. Yes, he was incredibly emotional, but again — it worked for me. (I felt like we were essentially watching Soo go through intensive therapy — so how obvious he was with his emotions… that made sense to me. And stood in strong, and for me fascinating, contrast with Young’s steeliness.)

      But! That’s only why it worked for me, and I do recognize I had to fight past some pretty large barriers. 😉

      (I have a sneaking suspicion that, because Bae Jong-ok — yes I looked her up 😉 — did such a good job as Sec. Wang, the writer changed directions mid-story and that led to the melt down. But that’s just my little theory.)

      I’m really glad you dropped by to share your two cents, Maybee! 😀

  6. Can’t believe I missed this review! Just read it, thanks to Kfangurl’s page.

    “This drama managed to keep its soul but sacrificed its body.”

    Betsy, you always say it so, so well! Exactly what I’d sum it up in a statement to be, if ever I could prose like you 😉

Leave a Reply

