Weekly Drama Check-In Post (a promise of posts to come)

promopic photo Lee-Soon-Shin-is-the-Best_zps394940b2.jpg

Finally retire this promo-pic? Though… they do look rather jaunty.

First the exciting news: You’re the Best Lee Soon Shin is on Dramafever! Finally, I can watch without worrying about viruses! Which also means I’ll be able to pull screencaps a lot more easily. It’s really, really hard to find a scene when the show’s been split into 10 minute intervals and you have to fight pop-up ads whenever you jump from one interval to the next. Plus, Dramafever shows a handy thumbnail at the bottom of the screen as you drag your cursor along the timeline thingy. Which makes finding scenes really easy. (I think the new Viki has added that feature, if I recall correctly.)

I’ve been wanting to do a character-post to chat about the characters I love and the characters I love to hate, but the difficulty of screencapping, added to the number of characters, multiplied by the dubious screen-quality I’d end up with in the end equaled up to a fairly daunting effort in making it so. Hence, it didn’t happen. But! Now the prospect looks a little brighter.

A hilarious little side note: This is the quick summary Dramafever is giving for the show: “Lee Soon Shin must quickly come down to earth when the silver spoon is taken from her mouth and replaced with wooden chopsticks.” To which I say, “Wha…?” Because that’s… not anything like what the show is about.

hiking photo ScreenShot2013-04-14at65903PM_zpsd6c5291c.png

This is not the hiking outfit of choice for your typical silver-spoon girl.

hiking2 photo ScreenShot2013-04-14at65917PM_zpsc6384d3d.png

But she likes it!

Maybe the longer description has it more correctly?

“Lee Soon Shin (IU) was born with a silver spoon in her mouth, but with the death of her father, she’s finally forced to confront reality and all of the hardships that come with it. Coddled as the youngest and least successful sibling of the family, the silly Soon Shin nevertheless shines as a lively and spirited girl, which attracts Shin Joon Ho (Jo Jung Suk), a talent agent banking on a comely return-on-investment. However, both of them get more than they expected when their partnership turns both of their lives around for the better.”

And… no. Hilariously, hilariously no. The character they’re describing sounds much more like the silver-spoon-raised, completely-unfamiliar-with-reality, Shin Yi-jung.

hatestoclean photo ScreenShot2013-04-14at65310PM_zpsd6f7f9f6.png

The coddled youngest, Yi-jung, facing the horror of cleaning…

So that made me laugh — but mostly I’m just pleased to have a safe and legal source for the drama. They can describe it however they’d like as long as they keep up with the subbing.

In other news: the husband and I have finished Gaksitaaaal!! I’ve already written a review from my first watch, but I plan on writing up a spoiler-filled reaction post. Because I have thoughts and feels and must, must spill them. I will say one thing: Even when I knew he was coming, this guy was terrifying.

scary photo ScreenShot2013-04-14at63635PM_zpsd52dba3e.png

And since I’m promising posts… I think it’d be wise if I get my That Winter the Wind Blows written up some time this week. New dramas are piling in. I’m already watching two, there’s one more interesting one on the immediate horizon (Mandate From Heaven), and I’m sure more will be spilling out of studios before I realize it. (That’s something US fans have to get used to. There’s no season break in K-Dramas; they just keep coming.)

4 thoughts on “Weekly Drama Check-In Post (a promise of posts to come)

  1. Woot! You finished your rewatch! I’m looking forward to your reaction post – I foresee more conversations with you on the awesomeness of Gaksitaaaal! 😀

    Lee Soon Shin is firmly on my list, and I’m looking forward to Mandate of Heaven as well.. I’m toying with the idea of actually watching something live for a change, but right now, that’s still just an idea 😉

    • Live watching is such a different beastie. It can be good way to digest a bad show (I didn’t feel like I wasted my life with Fashion King because I got it in small, 2 hours per week, bites), and there can be a nice community feel — especially if it’s being recapped on Dramabeans. But it does change the feel of a show to have a week’s break between episodes. There can be a anticipation drop and a sense of broken continuity. Also, there’s more time to stew over issues that might get solved in the first 5 minutes of the next episode.

      Sometimes I love it and sometimes I don’t.

      Which is a long-winded way of saying… the choice is yours! 😀

Leave a Reply

