Carefully approaching the language barrier

In other news! I’ve just begun my first baby steps in learning Korean.  I’m using Talk To Me in Korean (talktomeinkorean.com), because it’s free and it’s online and it’s got good buzz per my Google-foo. This will be a slow, steady thing that I hope, hope, hope I can keep up. At the very least, I’ll have learned something. And that ain’t nothing.

twdrkingsejong photo resize_zpsf2dcaac8.jpeg

I like to think King Sejong is totally cheering me on…

14 thoughts on “Carefully approaching the language barrier

  1. How exciting! I’ve felt a similar pull to learn the language, thanks to K-dramas (and the variety in quality of the subtitles). Thanks for mentioning that link, and good luck to you!

  2. Chukhaeyo! Yes, King Sejong does look like he is very pleased with your progress. High Five!!! 🙂
    Thanks for sharing that website. I also want to share the website where I first studied Korean:
    http://world.kbs.co.kr/learn_korean2/english/
    I’m still learning the lessons here. But thanks to this website, I was able to say in Korean How much something costs, a few monetary words and even did some price bargaining when I visited Namdaemun market about 2 years ago. I also managed to give directions to the Taxi driver but unfortunately (which was funny), I could not understand what the Taxi Driver said in reply. Luckily, we still found our way. Whew! Happy studying! (^__^)

    • Hah! That’s an awesome story about you and the taxi-driver. 😀 I had something similar happen in Quebec when I attempted my very poor French.

      And thanks for the link! It’s always good to have more places to learn. 🙂

  3. 화이팅! You can do it! 🙂

    Learning Korean has been fun…. and frustrating at times but then, that’s true to learning any language. I also noticed that because the teacher we had in the beginning made us write A LOT and you had to be quick with it, I mastered the letters faster than I otherwise would have. My handwriting sucks as a result though. ;P

    Here’s another nice site I came across recently: http://quizlet.com/subject/korean/ It has about gzillion flashcards for learning new words. There are also sets for the book I’m using for my studies right now, which is nice. I’m really slow at memorising new words, which is the major reason I’m still not able to actually speak/write much myself, even though I understand a fair bit.

    • Ooh… good to have a flash-card site. Thank you! I think that’ll be really helpful down the road. Right now I’m at the very basic level and I recognize most of the words just from watching so many dramas. (Which is kind of awesome, actually!) I’m not worrying about writing at the moment. The site gives a free .pdf which I do look at, so I’m getting more familiar with how the letters work. But I’m mostly concentrating on getting the sounds down. A lot of listening!

      Though I did run across this link: http://9gag.com/gag/3968335
      I’m not sure I believe the “15 minutes” part — but it does give a good break down of the sounds. So, when I have a good chunk of uninterrupted time (someday! It will happen!) I plan to set down with pen and paper and do some practicing. 🙂

  4. Very cool, Betsy! “Talk to me in Korean” is a wonderful language learning program; they are serious about teaching whoever wants to learn and they manage to make it a lot of fun with bite size lessons that are really well thought out. Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy! I know that this IS definitely one of those endeavors that would make King Sejong really happy! 화이팅!

    • The bite-size lessons are awesome. They make it so easy for me to review when I’m cooking or doing dishes. And because they’re small, if I’m confused about something, it’s no problem to repeat the lesson. I haven’t gotten bored or frustrated yet, and that’s saying something. 🙂

  5. Nice 🙂 Now, I want to check out that site 🙂 It’s not easy to learn a new language as an adult ‘no? Less neurons is why. Heh. English is not my native tongue, but I learned it as a child. I wish I also learned French or Mandarin then! Good luck to you!

    • Thanks! Yeah, I’m being very patient with myself. (Which the site helps with because their lessons are very short.) I figure anything learned is an improvement. And I’m picking up the few phrases and words I’ve learned in the dramas I’m watching, already. Just a few here and there, but it gives me a nice burst of “ooh! I know that!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

