Fashion King: the Review

fashionking photo 0b8d41d63d74_zps0e871bb6.jpgFashion King
air date: 3.19.2012 through 5.22.2012
number of eps: 20
I watched it: Live! First time ever watching live! And this is what I chose for the honor!

In a nutshell: Such a stylish, well-acted, beautifully shot… mess. Fashion King never quite settled on the story it was telling (is this a wacky comedy about a wiseass street kid conning his way to the top? or a gritty no-holds-barred look at the ugly underbelly of Korea’s rich and powerful?), never quite figured out the tone to tell it in (wacky comedy with funny camera angles and pratfalls? gritty realism with blood and suffering?), and decided to throw them both together and blend. It did not turn out well. The incredible acting skills and the interesting story I caught glimpses of (when I squinted) made the failure even more complete. Though I can say I was never bored. Confused, but never bored.

A failure, yes. And yet…yooahin photo 34b94_yooahin_zps362f1bbd.jpg I really did enjoy the acting. So in the end I was glad I watched. I knew going in that this would probably crash and burn (Dramabeans gave up recapping on the first or second episode and I took their warning), but I knew I’d watch anyway because I’m a huge (huge!) Yoo Ah In fan. And, as I watched, I could see why he’d chosen this project. In the interesting story that did not get told, his character had a cool, cliche-breaking trajectory.

And then there was Lee Je-hoon. Holy crap, I did not see this guy coming. I’d seen him in the short film, Just Friends?, (that he totally rocked), and overlooked him in his small role in the movie, Finding Mr. Perfect, but seeing him in Fashion King… he blew me away. leejehoo photo Lee_Je_Hoon_26963_4_zps9ea7db26.jpgHe played such an odd, prickly character that would have been so easy to play screamy and childish. Instead, he turned it into another cliche-breaking role… in the interesting story that did not get told. *sigh*

Unfortunately, the story that did get told fell into repetitiveness with the two characters constantly clashing over the same damn thing. Which meant Shin Se-kyung’s character spent a lot of time traveling between their fashion houses for reasons I never quite understood. (I really liked her character as well, which was not as popular an opinion. But that’s too much to get into here, especially as it had a lot to do with the interesting story that did not get told. That maybe existed only in my head. Though if anyone’s interested, I’m always glad to opine. *g*)shinsekyung photo 20110526_shin_sekyung_sure_1_zpsf9c81a3d.jpg

But in the end… Yeah, it was a mess. The big dramatic ending actually made me laugh. Out loud, even. Which was not the reaction they were going for, I know. And it had me scratching my head, because if this was the ending they were aiming for (and the dramatic final scene was shot at the beginning of the drama) why didn’t they tell that story to begin with? Or at all?

12 thoughts on “Fashion King: the Review

  1. really…I didn’t know that the ending was shot before at the beginning!! hahaha..
    It could have become my first venture into live watching but….i dropped it after 4 episodes when everyone was looking confused and crazy, including the plot…..and it also didn’t help that Yoo Ah In’s haircut was just too short.. 😦
    the only good thing that came out of that mini ride: I came to know about the awesomeness called Lee Je Hoon, who was unknown to me before that.. 🙂

  2. I tried this out for Yoo Ah In, and dropped it like a hot potato after the first episode. It got so crazy within just the first hour that I knew I wouldn’t last the entire series >.< I love Yoo Ah In, but not enough to watch the whole of Fashion King 😛 LOL!

  3. Wow! I too am a fan of Yoo Ah In, thanks to Sungkyunkwan Scandal. 🙂
    But because of Dr. Jin (again), I didn’t get a chance to watch “Fashion King” live.
    I read the DB’s recap of episode 1 and 2 and then months after it aired, I watched a middle episode and the final episode. “What just happened?” was my reaction to the final episode. I even tried to rewind it, hoping I just missed some scenes that would explain everything, but I found nothing. Nada. I wish somebody asked the writers what were they thinking. So, your post’s title “The story not told” perfectly sums up Fashion King’s plot (or lack thereof).

    • I watched the whole thing and my response to the ending was, “What just happened?” 😀

      (If you haven’t seen Yoo Ah-in’s movie, “Punch,” I totally recommend it.)

  4. The fact that you finished this show means you deserve a round of applause. I ran away around episode 5 when I felt like the main girl had no personality and just did whatever the main guy said.

    • Hah! I’ll take my bows where I can get them. 😉

      I saw some personality to the main girl myself… but! It was all tied up with the story running through my head so… Yeah, it may have been personality I just gave her when I was handing out plot.

  5. Pingback: Drama Review: Aftermath | Creating Volumes

Leave a Reply

