Beloved: the review

beloved photo Beloved-Poster3_zpsc5f807ac.jpgBeloved
(aka: Dear You)
air date: 6.27.2012 through 8.16.2012
number of eps: 16
I watched it: really slooow and drawn-out marathon

In a nutshell: This was definitely a mood-watch. It felt longer than it was. (I was surprised to see the episode count when I looked it up. I’d have said 20 to 24 if asked to guess.) But then, I watched it pretty slowly — this was my go-to for late nights when I didn’t want to go to bed yet. It’s about a young marriage that gets challenged when the wife’s old boyfriend comes back to town and the husband’s head gets turned by a pretty young thing. But it’s not particularly risquรฉ. A lot of moodily lit scenes with soothing music while the actor stares out at the night… thinking.

Mood’s the thing: Bizarrely, I liked it. I mean, the plot moved at about the speed of melting molasses, but that’s what I was looking for. And it was beautifully shot. I can’t, in good conscience, give this a strong recommendation because I really do think it was more my mind-set than the strength of drama that had me satisfied. But if the mood strikes…

6 thoughts on “Beloved: the review

  1. Yup, mood pieces are like that, though I have to say I like them better if the actual story doesn’t suck. ๐Ÿ™‚ Japan is very good with this sort of stuff, only those are more slice of life than melo.

    I tried watching Beloved too but I couldn’t stand any of the characters so I dopped it after few episodes.

    • Beloved may have an original j-drama source. I have vague memories of “the j-drama was better” comments in DramaFever’s review section — but I couldn’t tell you definitely. I don’t have any good sources for J-dramas so I’ve not been able to explore those as I have k-dramas. Unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

