I’ve learned something today…

Actually, I’ve learned a couple of things.

First, asking for recommendations is an excellent way to learn of good dramas I’ve missed.  I’m going to leave my What should I watch? poll open until tomorrow evening (Thursday), when I expect to start the marathoning, so please vote and/or comment to your heart’s content until then.

Second, I need to make some lists.  Below the cut I’ve listed all the dramas I’ve watched. And I’ve included a list of dramas that have been recommended to me. At some point I’ll figure out a permanent place for both lists, but in the meanwhile…

Dramas I’ve watched (in alphabetical order):

49 Days
Answer Me 1997
Arang and the Magistrate
Baker King Kim Tak-goo
Baby-faced Beauty
Beloved
Best Love
Big
Biscuit Teacher; Star Candy
Boys Before Flowers
Bridal Mask (aka: Gaksital)
Brilliant Legacy (aka: Shining Inheritance)
City Hunter
Coffee Prince
Dal Ja’s Spring
Delightful Girl Choon Hyang
Devil, The (aka: Mawang)
Dream High
Equator Man, The
Faith
Family’s Honor
Fashion King
Flower Boy Ramyun Shop
Full House
Full House Take 2
Girl K
Goong
Heartstrings (aka: You’ve Fallen For Me)
High Kick 3: Revenge of the Short Legged
History of the Salaryman
How to Meet a Perfect Neighbor
I Need Romance
I Need Romance 2012
King 2 Hearts, The
Last Scandal of My Life, The
Me Too, Flower!
Miss Ripley
Moon that Embraces the Sun, The
My Girl
My Girlfriend is a Gumiho
My Name is Kim Sam-soon
Nice Guy (aka: Innocent Man)
Ojakgyo Brothers
Personal Preference
Playful Kiss
Princess’ Man, The
Prosecutor Princess
Que Sera Sera
Queen In-hyun’s Man
Queen of Reversals
Return of Iljimae, The
Rock, Rock, Rock
Rooftop Prince
Secret Garden
Shut Up Flower Boy Band
Soulmate
Sungkyunkwan Scandal
Tree With Deep Roots
Twelve Men in a Year
Vampire Prosecutor
What’s Up?
What’s Up, Fox?
White Christmas
Who Are You?
World They Live In, The
You’re Beautiful

Dramas I should watch (in alphabetical order):

9 End 2 Outs
Bad Family
Beautiful Days
Chosun Police S1+S3
Chuno
Coffee House
Conspiracy in the Court
City Hall
Evasive Inquiry Agency (aka: Mixed Up Inquiry Agency)
Flowers for My Life
He Who Can’t Marry
Hotelier
Iljimae
Life is Beautiful
Lovers
Once Upon a Time in Saengchori
Painter of the Wind
Pasta
Resurrection
Ruler of Your Own World
Sweet 18
Time Between Dog & Wolf

9 thoughts on “I’ve learned something today…

  1. Wow! You’ve watched so many dramas. I was gonna suggest School 2013 just because it has an essence of Shut Up:Flower Boy Band to it, and I saw you liked that show. Also, I found it pretty interesting and it seems like we have similar tastes since your top 3 dramas of last year were the same as mine!

    • I have, haven’t I? I was kind of shocked myself as I put the list together. I guess I don’t do things by halves. 😀 I am so interested in “School 2013”. I’m waiting for it to end (next week, right?) and then I plan on marathoning it. Hearing that it’s like SUFFB? I’m even more interested!

      • Yeah it ends next Tuesday! I think of it as taking place at the school the boys were at before they were transferred to the really nice and pretty school. To me, the students have the same wandering and lost feelings that the boys of Eye Candy had, but sadly no awesome band to unite them all. I hope you enjoy it!

  2. Wow, that’s a pretty impressive list, for someone who only got into kdramas in 2011! 😀

    Ok, now that I’m clear on what you’ve already watched, here are a couple more shows that I’d like to suggest:

    Retro stuff:
    – Hotelier (really old, good pacing, & features Bae Yong Jun at his most charming imo. I thot he was so suave here, more than his Winter Sonata persona)
    – Beautiful Days (also old, but worth watching. Lee Byung Hun is mesmerizing & is the manly man kind of hero. I was defenceless in the face of his intense stares)

    Newer stuff:
    – Chuno (Gorgeous cinematography, and features Jang Hyuk from Tree. So much swag!)
    – Iljimae (completely different beast than Return, but also pretty good. Lee Jun Ki & Park Shi Hoo!)
    – He Who Can’t Marry (pretty fun rom-com with some LOL moments. Features 30-40 something leads instead of the younger set)

    • I was surprised myself at how long the list was getting! I guess I didn’t sleep or something? Though I’d also gotten burned out on US shows so K-Dramas were my only tv for a while there.

      Loving the recommendations, thanks! I’ll add them to the list. 🙂

      • Oh I know what you mean about US shows – I used to enjoy them, but now I don’t even give them a second glance!

        Btw, I can’t resist giving Life Is Beautiful a shout-out on your recommendations list 😉 I know it’s a longer show so it might not make your marathon cut, but I just wanted to make sure it wasn’t forgotten 😉

        Also, if you’re in the mood for some retro romance, Lovers is not bad. It’s not on the top of my list, but it does feature some hot gangsta lovin’.. Lee Seo Jin is hot gangster in question, who falls for an ordinary woman. Kim Nam Gil is his hot right hand man 😉 Maybe save this for after you’ve cleared some dramas off your recommendations list! 😀

        • Done! Actually, this is turning out to be an even better little project than I realized. Because now I’ve got a place to get all my recommendations together. I love it when things work out like that. 🙂

  3. You really have watched quite a few dramas! 🙂 Ok, then I’ll wiff out my list and see which one’s to suggest… hmm….

    Chosun Police S1+S3 – even though they belong to the same series and have some characters in common, they are two separate entities. CP is sort of Joseon era CSI. XD I rather loved S3, it even has a romance which is kinda rare when it comes to action/historical/procedural. There’s a rec post for it in my LJ (the part ‘for shipperst’ at the end is kinda spoilery I guess the rest shouldn’t be), in case you are intersted. 🙂

    Conspiracy in the Court – By the director of ‘Chuno’. Not for the feint of heart and people tend to either love it or hate it. Guess which group I belong to? ;P Quoting myself: “The cinematography is lovely but then this tends to be the sageuk norm in general. Acting is great and so is the story. Very twisty and dark and interesting, with characters who are mainly neither black nor white but rather several shades of gray. It also moves at a breakneck pace so if you un-glue your eyes from the screen for a few minutes you are bound to miss something.”

    Bad Family – One romcom I actually loved. It’s freaking hilarious and heartwarming at the same time.

    Evasive Inquiry Agency – Lee Min Ki… nuff said.;P It’s quirky and funny and kinda whacky but never goes totally over the top. Park Hee Soon is a scene stealer.

    Once Upon Time in Saengchori – It’s such a mix, drama/rommance/comedy/mystery/… with some supernatural/fantasy thrown in. Slightly whacky with a similar feel to Mixed up Enquiry Agency. It also has a rather inventive use of drama-sickness as a plot device, ha. I really have to rewatch this as I finally got subs for my raws. \o/

    I think you mentioned that you’ve watched Mawang/Devil (though I don’t see it on the list) but did you also watch the companion piece – Resurrection? UTW at his finest. 🙂

    Guess this is quite enough, though I have several more where those came from (my drama list is rather… ummm… long). *g*

    • D’oh! I forgot to put Mawang/Devil on the list. I’m running out the door right now, but I’ll get it on there. It’s too good a drama to not include. (I’ve forgotten “Rock, Rock, Rock” as well, I think.)

      And yay for more recs! I’ll get those up on the “to watch” list as well. Thanks for giving me such a lovely list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

