This is not a review

imissyourain photo I-Miss-You3_zpseddbe7b5.jpgI watched the last episode of I Miss You today. And I’m filled to the brim with all sorts of unorganized thoughts and reactions.  I tend to ride a story-buzz for a little while after I’ve watched or read something, with my critical thinking skills left lagging far behind. I’m still in that buzzy state and it’ll be a while before I can write a formal review, but in the meanwhile… These are my thoughts.

Spoilers for everything below the cut!

So many things pleased me about the end.

The lovely conversation between Soo-yeon and her mom about her memories of her rape and her guilt and her deciding that she wasn’t at fault and she’s not a bad person made me so, so happy. I adored how supportive her mother was, and how supportive she was of her mother.  Basically it was a mutual love-fest and I ate it up. It’s exactly the conversation I was looking for.

I really enjoyed the tension of that final warehouse scene with Joon trying to force Soo-yeon to hate Jung-woo and love him. Actually, I was pleased with how much they dealt with Joon’s psychological damage and how much pain he was in, but also how wrong he was in trying to force love. Which meant he missed the love Soo-yeon did have for him. I’m glad they kept Joon as a pitiful character instead of turning him into a mustache-twirling bad guy.

But I’m glad they didn’t try to tack any last minute redemption onto Han Tae-joon. Partly because it was too late for it. He’d shown such a lack of remorse and such an obsession with his money that any such eleventh hour changes would have felt wrong. But mostly because it’s not often K-Dramas give us a bad-father.  We get bad-mothers by the score, but bad-fathers are a K-Drama unicorn and I get a little thrill whenever one is discovered.

Which means I was glad they redeemed Jung-woo’s stepmom. I’d say her change wasn’t quite eleventh hour because she always loved her daughter and we did get shown her fear of her husband and her bad treatment from him. But I’ll admit to a view-shaping bias. I really, really loved how much this drama relied on the strength of mothers. And women in general, really.  (The scene with Jung-woo and all the women in his life around the family dinner table was so, so cool. For me it underlined the message that his goodness owed a great deal to his respect for women and the support he gained from them.)

I’m quite sure I’m handwaving things.

The police were a wee bit incompetent in catching Joon and Han Tae-joon there in the end. I happily handwaved it because I wanted the warehouse scene it led to, but I’m thinking Joon’s various narrow-escapes (especially the one outside the memorial crypt where he’s on a bike and there are so many cop cars) maybe should have been filmed differently.

The last episode, especially, felt a bit drawn-out. We get a handful of epilogues that were more candy than meat. But! I kind of liked the candy. That scene where Jung-woo imagines what-could-have-been where he returned the umbrella to Soo-yeon and brought Joon along to introduce him and they all end up playing keep-away in the playground… probably not necessary but I loved it.

The foreshadowed scenes from the very beginning of the drama weren’t really used. Since they involved Jung-woo getting shot in the head I’m glad they weren’t replayed in a literal fashion. But I wonder if more could have been done to tie them in as a nightmare or something?

And that’s more than enough thoughts to be getting on with! I’ll let the drama sit with me a little and come back with a formal review down the road. At this point though, I’m glad  I watched and I miss the anticipation of a new episode next week. Which isn’t a bad way to end a drama.

Leave a Reply

