Rock Rock Rock: the Review

rock rock rock posterRock Rock Rock
air date: 12.11.2010 through 12.18.2010
number of eps: 4
I watched it: marathon

In a nutshell: This was a bio-pic, which is not my favorite type of storytelling. And the reasons why it’s not my favorite genre did happen in this drama. So it won’t be going into a favorite-list.  But, I’m glad I gave this a watch. I feel like my knowledge of the Korean rock scene has nudged up from “absolute zero” to “minimal”.  (Which is kind of awesome; it’s only up from here!) Also, I really enjoyed watching No Min-woo tackle such a meaty role. I’ll be keeping an eye on him as one to watch. (I know. A tough, tough job.) I can’t say I enjoyed the story as a story, but the introduction to Kim Tae-won and his music was enough to satisfy.

No Min-woo: He did a great job playing the young, cocky Kim Tae-won (I’m now so, so eager to see him play that sort of brash character again), then morphing into the broken-hearted, unsure, yet somehow still fiercely proud, Kim Tae-won. It was a little harder believing him as the careworn, worldly-wise, old-man Kim Tae-won (oh, the curse of being so youthful and good-looking!), but if I handwaved his appearance, No Min-woo did a decent enough job playing old and tired.

Bio-pic bugs: I’ve never been a huge fan of biographies as stories. For one, real lives rarely follow a dramatic arc. The show did a fairly good job creating an arc, but the pacing got a little weird. A times it seemed bogged down as Kim Tae-won struggled with the same issue again and again.  Then suddenly we were several years down the road and… issue solved? Kind of? (Honestly, I was never sure he found his music or his place or his peace. But maybe that continual struggle was the point?)

Another bug, real lives usually come with a massive cast of characters. And boy, did this drama have a massive cast of characters that tended to breeze in and out of the show with little introduction. But here I think it’s more me at fault. I’m not really the intended audience as I knew nothing — nothing — about the Korean rock scene, then or now. The drama was definitely interested in educating people into that scene, but they assumed (as they should have) a certain level of knowledge. I watched Walk the Line knowing little to nothing about Johnny Cash’s story; I still recognized Elvis when he appeared.  I strongly suspect several of those characters that blew in and out of the story were supposed to garner that level of recognition.

Bottom line: In this end this is very much a “your milage may vary” drama, depending on your interests and knowledge. The cool thing is, it’s only four episodes, so if you’re at all curious it’s definitely worth checking out.

Leave a Reply

